Firmament: Radialloy by J. Grace Pennington

Hello again! And now do you like my hat? *Coughwinkgrin* Well! I know it’s not Sunday yet, but you see my friend and honorary big sister Grace Pennington was asking people to do  reviews on the books she just published. I’ve never attempted a review before, and am not familiar with any preferred ‘format’, but I figured it was worth a try! So I figured I’d post one today and another one Sunday-Monday-ish just for the occasion. Today’s review is on Firmament: Radialloy, the first in a series of Science Fiction books. (The others are not yet published.) So without further ado…

 

The year is 2320.

Andi Lloyd is content with her life as the assistant to her adoptive father, a starship doctor, but her secure world turns upside down after she uncovers secrets from her past.

When her father mysteriously starts losing his mind, she finds that she can no longer count on him to guide or to help her.

With mutiny breaking out on the ship and two factions desperate for a valuable secret she holds, can she save her father and herself before time runs out?

 

I confess that Science Fiction has never been my first choice, either for reading or writing. (But that could be simply a result of lack of exposure to the genre – I don’t know.) At any rate, I was intrigued by Grace’s book, Firmament: Radialloy, and found to my delight that it was an excellent book. I especially love how Grace weaves her vibrant faith through the very core of her books. It is so beautiful and so refreshing!

Grace’s descriptions are vivid and rich, and I was completely drawn into the story by them. I could hear the monitors beeping in sickbay, smell the tomato soup Almira was serving in the cafeteria; even feel the rusty metal biting into my own hands. The pictures Grace paints in her book are truly phenomenal!

Her characters too are dynamic and unique (something I myself struggle with in my writing, so it is good to see her example) and it is not hard to become attached to Andi, the doctor, the captain, Eagle Crash, August, and yes, Guilders too. I can tell that Grace put a lot of effort into each one, and I can’t wait to follow them through another story.

Speaking of stories, I should probably touch on the actual plot of Radialloy. (Let’s see, which synonym for ‘great’ shall I use?) Grace has woven an intricate story here that makes it impossible to foresee the ending. (At least for me – and I like to think that I’m pretty good at it, though whether or not I really am, I wouldn’t know.) Which is a difficult thing to do sometimes, but she made a unique story that I will be happy to reread again and again.

Well done, Grace, and I look forward to reading the rest of the Firmament series!

 

Categories: Reviews | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Firmament: Radialloy by J. Grace Pennington

  1. Grace Pennington

    Aww, thanks for the sweet review, little sis! * hugs* 🙂

    • *Hugs* My pleasure, Grace dear. 🙂 I’ll try and get reviews up on Amazon, but for some reason you have to buy something off Amazon to review other things, and I don’t have an account that has bought anything so I’ll have to borrow somebody else’s. Workin’ on it! 🙂

  2. Nice review, Calista! Having read (and being in the process of re-reading) this gem, I totally agree. 😀

  3. Hey Calista! I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award! Have fun! 😉
    http://exhortationsbyelizabeth.blogspot.com/2013/01/blush.html

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

