Where is Your Focus?

I was thinking the other day (Don’t look so surprised…) and I came to a conclusion that I had never considered before. My conclusion was this, that criticizing ourselves and putting ourselves down and dwelling on our stupidity and our mistakes is actually just as selfish as trying to convince people how wonderful we are compared to them. We’re still focusing on ourselves, and it’s still a negative influence on our walk with God. You know, the devil has an awful lot of creativity when it comes to getting us to take our focus away from Jesus. After all, the devil can use artificial humility just as easily as he uses outright pride.

So, I think that especially as Christians, we’ve got to learn to let our mistakes go. Honestly, we’re all human, and we’re going to keep making mistakes until the end of the world. Why should we worry ourselves about things that can’t be undone? If we’re forgiven, we have no reason to keep digging up our old junk to review just how awful it was. Why can’t we just focus on Christ’s beauty instead? He is big enough to forgive us, and leaves us no right to withhold forgiveness from ourselves.

So anyways, my point is we’re not perfect yet, but God is still working through us. And if we can’t see His progress, it just might be because we’re not focusing on Him.

 

I get so clumsy, I get so foolish, I get so stupid, and then I feel so useless. But You’re sayin’ You love me, and You’re still gonna hold me, and that You wanna be near me, ’cause you’re makin’ me holy.

~ Clumsy by Chris Rice ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vUwJZFybcW )

Categories: Opinionations | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Where is Your Focus?

  1. Jo Steckly

    Like that song by Christ Rice, and also your blog. We do need to keep looking to Jesus and
    not ourselves.

  2. This was a good reminder, Milly. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    • *Smiles* Glad to. 🙂 It was an especially interesting one for me anyways because (as you know) I.. heh… had a habit of criticizing myself. 😛

  3. Fallon Michael

    What a truthful post. Thanks for reminding us of this, Calista!

  4. This topic is something that I’ve been thinking about lately. Thank you for sharing this, Calista dear 🙂

  5. I’ve been thinking a lot along the same lines…great post, little sister. 😀 It’s…debilitating for us to look at ourselves, and it helps no one. Thanks for reminding me Who to look to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

