On My Own

As some of you may know, I have a lot of song ideas. Seriously, a lot! They buzz around my head like a flock of bumblebees. Er, herd…Hive? Whatever. A GROUP of bumblebees. Anyways. All these song ideas bug me to no end (Sorry about the atrocious pun. Give me a break – I’ve been busy.) because I don’t have the musical know-how to get them out of my head and onto the piano in a decent manner. Believe me, I’ve tried. Multiple times. It doesn’t work. I can’t force the music out, but when the composing bug bites, I can turn out a semi-decent song, sometimes. (Why are you looking at me like that? Did I say I was going to share some of my songs with you today? Did I?)

Well, recently I’ve been thinking about writing music (because the song essences were buzzing louder than usual and still wouldn’t come out) and it occurred to me, that it is impossible for me to write music on my own. I can’t muscle my way through it, can’t weasel my way around it. [bunny-trail] And certain *cough* siblings of mine can attest to the fact that I am rather practiced at weaseling my way around things…[/bunny-trail] The fact is, unless God gives me the inspiration, all I ever end up with is short, simple, repetitive chord progressions that only give me a whiff of the essence I’m looking for. On my own, I just can’t write music like I want to.

While I was thinking about all that I realized that this doesn’t just hold true for writing songs. Psalm 127:1 says,

“Unless the Lord builds the house, they labor in vain who build it; unless the Lord guards the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.”

And like one of my sisters said, “With God, anything is possible, but without Him, everything is impossible.” (Yes, Camille, I’m fully aware I paraphrased you.) That’s a good reminder! I think we humans get so caught up with what “we’ve done”, that we forget that without the Creator, we, the created, can’t do a single thing. On our own, we’re just fancy dust, if you really think about it.

So…that makes it pretty important that we include God in everything we do! “Therefore, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.” (1 Corinthians 10:31)

I don’t know about you, but I’m a stubborn human being that likes to do things on my own – maybe that’s why God lets me try to catch all those elusive music-bumblebees all the time to remind me that I really do need Him. So, while their buzzing is really annoying sometimes, maybe it’s just as well. Maybe I should be thankful for the reminder so I don’t try to keep doing things on my own.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

