“But I Don’t Want To Do It!”

“Calista, I’m leaving and I need you to finish making the cheese for me.” My mom says, as she dashes around the house trying to get ready to leave.

‘But I don’t want to do it!’ I complain mentally. I have my own schedule – my own stuff I want to do today, and it certainly did not include being tied to the kitchen and constantly having to check on a stupid pot of milk. If you look closely, I’m sure you can see a black cloud over my head as my mom leaves and I drag myself into the kitchen. It’s going to be a long morning.

 

I don’t know about you, but when someone tells me to do something that I hate doing, my initial response is to dig my heels in. Yep, it’s true, unfortunately. Maybe it’s just me and my lazy youngest-gets-out-of-everything mentality – I don’t know. What I do know is that my mom calls it a Bad Attitude. Either way, it’s not much fun to have, or to be around. (Go figure. The one thing I have plenty of, nobody wants…)

So anyways, I’ve been thinking about it recently, and it struck me that…well…Jesus was tempted to have a Bad Attitude about the cross. After all, He’s the God of the universe! Why did He come down to die for us wretched, dirty, sinners? He didn’t have to. He could have just stayed where He was – He could have just sat back and left us to our miserable selves or just destroyed us altogether. Why should He humiliate Himself so completely for our sake? Why didn’t He dig in His heels and say “But I don’t want to do it!”

Matthew 26:39 – He went a little farther and fell on His face, and prayed, saying, “O My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as You will.”

*Sighs* I think you can see there’s a big difference between Jesus’ attitude and mine. And I think that the root of that difference is basically pride. If there’s anything harder than laying aside my pride in order to submit to someone else’s will, I don’t know what it is. And yet, the very God of the universe was not too proud to lay aside all the glory of heaven and come live as one of us, and die an utterly humiliating death for people who didn’t even love Him. In that light, it makes all my selfish refusals look pretty stupid. *Laughs a little*

That doesn’t mean I don’t still struggle. Hey, I still don’t like making cheese. But, it is my hope and my desire that the God who cared enough to submit Himself and do something hard will in turn teach me to do the same.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on ““But I Don’t Want To Do It!”

  1. Heh… I know exactly how you feel. I’m the same way, Calypso. The exact same way. And it’s all right. No one is perfect; no one but Christ. *hugs tight* Love ya, sis.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

