I’m Tired of Whining!

*Grumblemumblegrowlssomethingundermybreath* Anybody else ever said that before? I admit it – I’ve certainly done more than my share of complaining in my time. My philosophy was something to the effect of “Every silver lining has a cloud.” I kind of tried to brush over Philippians 2:14-15:

Do all things without complaining and disputing, that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world…

But you can’t just ignore verses that you don’t like. This isn’t a Baptist-style potluck, people. If you don’t like the deviled eggs with avocado, you have to eat it anyways. [bunny-trail]Just in case people start getting ideas, I have no idea if such a dish exists![/bunny-trail] So I had to admit that the verse was right, and I shouldn’t be complaining.

Well, apparently just because a verse says something doesn’t mean it’s automatically easy to do what it says. Annnnd, well, if one has the bad habit of forgetting that sort of thing right when one needs it the most, well, that doesn’t always work out so well. But you know what I’ve found out? I’m actually tired of complaining! Strange? Not really. Complaining is kind of like verbal pollution, and it makes everyone – including its source – feel bad. And surprise surprise, apparently nobody likes to feel bad. Isn’t that weird? (Okay, I’ll stop with the sarcasm…)

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is that…there’s a practical reason for commands like Philippians 2:14-15. God doesn’t tell us to do or not do something just because. It’s always for our good. And so…we should be grateful not only for the “ice-cream” verses, but also for the deviled-eggs-with-avocado. *Smiles*

Categories: Ponderizations | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I’m Tired of Whining!

  1. Juliet Nicole

    * wants. deviled. eggs. and. avocado. *

    Ahem. I mean – good post, neighbor! 😀

    I know what you mean about being tired of complaining…it happens to me a lot. Too often. 😛 It would be nice if it were easier to stop doing something you don’t even enjoy doing…humans are so very strange creatures.

  2. Awesome post! I need constant reminders like that.
    Bonnie, fan of your blog

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

