Mounting Up Like Eagles

Doing hard things is…well…hard. (That was brilliant…) At STEP there were a lot of new and hard things that I had to learn to do…like getting up at 5 AM and running. I am definitely not a runner. Since Mondays were designated running days, I dreaded them. A few minutes into a run, my knees and ankles start to ache, and I get a stitch in my side. Not a lot of fun for me. So anyways, one morning we were starting our run, and my feet hurt really badly from all the walking we had been doing. Maybe it sounds silly, but I had a feeling that I would not be able to finish that run – at least, not without help. The only thing I could think to do was to pray “God, just give me strength for the next step!” over and over again. The cool thing was that in that moment, God brought to memory a verse (and actually it wasn’t even a whole verse) that says “they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint”. The phrases kept pounding through my head, over and over, and it was really neat how it gave me just enough strength to finish the run well and (even better) with a cheerful attitude. I was amazed to have God answer me so promptly and perfectly, and I had to look up the entire verse. …And found this:

Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint. ~ Isaiah 40:28-31

Yikes! I think you can see how that has become one of my favorite passages in Scripture. There haven’t been very many times that God has so directly given me a verse when I needed it, but that was one of them. The funny thing was, I didn’t dread running after that. I almost looked forward to it (but not quite). Just for the record, that in itself is a miracle.

So you see, you don’t have to be afraid of hard things. *Smiles quietly* Yes, they are hard. (Duh) Yes, they are intimidating, tiring, and sometimes discouraging. But the Lord, the everlasting God, gives power to the faint, and strength to those who can’t go on anymore. And when we stop trying to do things by ourselves and let Him do it instead, we can finish the race. By His power, we can do the impossible. We can mount up with wings like eagles.

Categories: Ponderizations | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Mounting Up Like Eagles

  1. That was very encouraging! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

