Ramblings on Stress

Okay, so I’ve been taking college classes for the past…three weeks? Four weeks? Something like that. Anywho! It’s been a very good reminder about my susceptibility to stress. (In case you haven’t picked it up yet, I stress out about EVERYTHING. It’s annoying.) Just yesterday in my Office Procedures class (where we basically talk about secretaries and what they do) we even ended up talking about stress. One of my classmates, an older lady, was talking about how it was impossible to eliminate stress in her life, and several of the others agreed. That got me thinking. Is it really impossible?

I believe it isn’t.  We were never meant to be a slave to our emotions, and I think that includes stress. And as God’s people, we’ve been set free from everything that would enslave us. Including our emotions. And yes, that includes stress.

I believe in a God who says, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:6-7) “Yeah, well, that’s talking about anxiety, not stress.” Same difference. And besides, I’ve tried it, and it works on stress. So there. End of story.

I don’t have a really good, inspiring summary for this post. (Hey, it’s almost an hour past my bed time. Give me a break!) All I can say is…This giving your stress and anxiety away to God stuff really works. And it’s sooo much nicer to have God’s peace instead of our own stress. So why in the world are we holding on to it, for pete’s sake? Just give it up. Let God handle it. He’s big enough to take care of our stress. And He wants to, anyways, so why get in the way?

Categories: Opinionations | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

