“Then Do It.”

Hullo again. (I hope you aren’t getting tired of listening to me.) Today I would like to share an excerpt from my sister’s book. (You remember, the one I ranted about a couple weeks ago.) To set the stage a little, Galoof (that is, by the way, a nickname for Galondrophil, but nobody calls him that because he is much too impudent to fit that name) has had an accident that basically paralyzed his legs, and he is struggling with coming to grips with it.

“Confound it! Everything I ever wanted to do, wanted to be, involves walking, running, riding. Now what shall I do? Just sit here? I don’t want to just sit around all my life, with people waiting on me for everything! I want to do something, I want to be something! Why should a king’s son be crippled?”

The tension was finally surfacing with greater force. It was not surprising – perhaps it was even to be desired, for in that way it would be easier for others to help Galoof with his fears, assuming whatever persons happened to be present could find words of wisdom to speak, and in that Diantha felt she was sadly deficient. Yet, though she knew she had no words to offer, she was honestly aghast at Rodwin’s response. He laughed.

“What? A king’s son?” he seemed amused, “Does your lineage then constitute your claim to health and prosperity?” Galoof only stared at him with a blank look, so Rodwin went on. “I will be the first to tell you, Galoof, that such does not constitute invulnerability. Maybe you do not wish to be waited on for everything, but at least you can turn and repay those who wait on you.”

“But that is the trouble! I can’t do anything but talk.” Galoof protested.

“Well, then do it.” was Rodwin’s matter-of-fact response.

~ Royalty in Disguise, by Camille Esther

What I really want to focus on is that last part, because Galoof is doing something that I am very bad about – he’s focusing on the negative, namely, all the things he can’t do. And it’s making him depressed, as well as crippling his ability to do the things he can still do. Which, if you really think about it, is kind of a stupid thing to do, and yet I do it all the time. What’s with that? God gave me plenty of things I can do, so why should I worry about the ones I can’t?

The devil has been using this tactic since the world began. In the Garden of Eden he got Eve to focus on what God hadn’t given her rather than what He had. The result was that she ate the forbidden fruit, gave some to her husband to eat, sin entered the world, and so on and so forth. It’s called discontentment, and I think pretty much everybody has had to deal with it at some point. I know I have, especially when I watch the people around me get in relationships and then get married and leave and all that fun stuff. It’s easy to let myself think I’m missing out, and that I deserve to get married too. (Even though I’m not 18 yet… I’m not sure how that works out.)

Well, I was thinking about discontentment, and one of my memory verses from STEP came to mind. [free advertisement] If you don’t remember what that is, it’s a month-long camp in June that I went to this year. An amazing experience! [/free advertisement] The passage is from Philippians. Chapter four, verses 11 through 13.

“Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am in to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.”

Whoops. I forget so easily! God is calling me to be content right here where I am, and with the things He has already given me. So the things that I can’t do? They shouldn’t matter. What matters are the things I can do. I can encourage others. I can honor God with the talents He entrusted in me. I can be a blessing right where I am, through Him who strengthens me. And I can be content. So if you’re feeling like Galoof, like you can’t do anything but talk… Then do it.

Categories: Ponderizations | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

