“But God…”

To start us off, I submit two passages for your consideration…

Exodus 4: 10-12 ~ But Moses said to the Lord, “Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either in the past or since you have spoken to your servant, but I am slow of speech and of tongue.” Then the Lord said to him, “Who has made man’s mouth? Who makes him mute, or deaf, or seeing, or blind? Is it not I, the Lord? Now therefore go, and I will be with your mouth and teach you what you shall speak.”

Jeremiah 1:6-8 ~ Then I said, “Ah, Lord God! Behold, I do not know how to speak, for I am only a youth.” But the Lord said to me, “Do not say, ‘I am only a youth’; for to all to whom I send you, you shall go, and whatever I command you, you shall speak. Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you to deliver you, declares the Lord.”

In both cases God had just called these men to do great things for Him – Moses was to lead Israel out of Egypt, and Jeremiah was to be a prophet. I find it interesting how similarly the two reacted to their callings; they made excuses. Both of them felt that they weren’t qualified to do God’s will.

I can relate to that. So many times, when God calls me to do something, I feel small and weak and unqualified. I want to make excuses. I want to ask Him to find someone else. But God doesn’t ask for qualified people. In fact, He delights in using people who are very unqualified. Moses, Jeremiah, Isaiah, Gideon, Peter, Paul… Why can’t He use me too? My excuses are no better than theirs. The only real qualification I need to have is willingness. Willingness to go where He calls me and do what He says.

So why does His call scare me so much? He never calls His soldiers to fight alone. So many times in the Bible He promised His people that He would go with them and help them; that they needn’t be afraid. But how easily I forget that His promises also apply to me! When He calls me to do something, He will also go with me. I don’t have to struggle through on my own strength; He will be my strength. And He will also be yours. You never have to be afraid to do what God asks. *Smiles*

Joshua 1:9 ~ Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.

Categories: Ponderizations | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

