Guest Post – Elly

Okay, so months and months ago Elly, one of my friends, asked if she could do a guest post on here. I said sure, she wrote one up, and then what did I do? I lost it in my message box. 😛 And of course they say ‘out of sight, out of mind’. So. A very, very belated post by Elly.

 

 

You’re free – free to do what you want to
Choose your own destiny
Free to do what you want to

Stryper is a Christian metal band that had success in the 1980s. One of their songs, “Free”, inspired me to write something. I offered to write a blog post for my good friend Calista. Finally I got around to writing it… and here I am!

“Meh,” you might say. “I’ll just skip this post because it doesn’t really interest me. I don’t care about a band who dressed in yellow and black and had big teased hair.”

Hang on. This isn’t about the band. It’s about the lyrics.

“You’re free – free to do what you want to
Choose your own destiny
Free to do what you want to”

Those were the lyrics that really jumped out at me. Destiny.

Destiny is defined as –
The events that will necessarily happen to a particular person or thing in the future.
The hidden power believed to control what will happen in the future; fate.

This song is suggesting that we, as God’s people, can pick our own destiny. We just love to speculate about the future, don’t we? About where we’ll go to college, where we’ll travel, who we’ll marry, what kind of house we’ll buy, how many kids we’ll have.

There is however, a bigger, more permanent destiny.

Eternity.

“Free – free to turn away, say goodbye
Free to walk away and deny
the gift waiting for you”

We all have to choose. The song is saying that we are free to deny God, but we are also free to

“…open up – and believe
Free to simply ask & receive
There’s no better time than now
You can’t lose”

Our eternity is our destiny. Would you choose an eternal gift in Heaven and God’s plan for your life, or would you turn and walk away? The choice is yours.

Categories: Guest Posts | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

