He *Is*

Have you ever felt like God was calling you to do something that was beyond your capabilities? I can relate to how Jeremiah must have felt in Jeremiah 1:4-6:

Now the word of the LORD came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.” Then I said, “Ah, Lord GOD! Behold, I do not know how to speak, for I am only a youth.”

Moses too made excuses to God about why he was inadequate for the job God called him to do, in Exodus 4:10:

But Moses said to the LORD, “Oh, my Lord, I am not eloquent, either in the past or since you have spoken to your servant, but I am slow of speech and of tongue.”

Sounds like me and my whiney excuses. I can really relate to Jeremiah and Moses. A lot of the time I fall into the thinking that I have to be something before God can use me. What happened to 1 Corinthians 1:27-29?

But God chose what is foolish in the world to shame the wise; God chose what is weak in the world to shame the strong; God chose what is low and despised in the world, even things that are not, to bring to nothing things that are, so that no human being might boast in the presence of God.

And 2 Corinthians 12:9?

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Our God, Yaweh, the Creator of the entire universe, loves to work with the meek of the earth. (He used a donkey once, for crying out loud. I’m pretty sure none of us can be that hopeless if He can use even a donkey.) He doesn’t expect us to be capable. He only asks that we be available. We don’t have to *be* anything special before He can use us, because “I AM” already *is* everything we could possibly need.

So, maybe we don’t feel capable of a task that God has asked us to do. But maybe that’s so that we will rely wholly on God. And maybe that’s the way He wants it to be. We shouldn’t be afraid to trust Him for the abilities we need in order to do something for Him. If He wants us to do something, He’ll give us exactly what we need in order to do it, and He will walk with us every step of the way.

Categories: Ponderizations | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

