All I Don’t Have

So, while I was pondering through last week’s post, I had another thought. If we need to surrender all that we have, what about what we don’t have? (Which does sound rather funny at first, but bear with me.) What about surrendering the things that we don’t have but we need? Or even the things we just want and don’t really need.

What happens when you need something but don’t have the capacity to obtain it yet? At least for me, that produces a strong tendency to worry and dwell on the unmet need. And when I worry about stuff and focus on the need, I’m not focusing on God. But God wants my focus to to be on Him. And if I want to surrender my focus to Him, that means that I also have to surrender my worry, and that means I have to surrender whatever it is I’m worrying about – in this case, the unmet need. Philippians 4:6-7 says:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

I don’t know about you, but I’d far rather have the Peace that Passes Understanding guarding my heart and mind than have worry guarding it. And from past experience, when I give God my worries and totally let go of them, it frees my brainpower so that I can use it elsewhere on more productive things. (Which is another big plus, at least for people like me who have a habit of being short on brainpower.) The best thing about submitting needs and worries about needs is that “my God will supply every need of yours according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 4:19)

As for submitting wants, or desires, I think of Psalm 37:4-5:

Delight yourself in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the Lord; trust in Him, and He will act.

See, when you seek to glorify God with every aspect of your life and make Him your focus, He will align your desires with His will. And, if your desires are aligned with His will, why should He not also grant them? The Lord, He is God. He owns the cattle on a thousand hills. He is Jehovah Jireh – The Lord will provide. We don’t have to be afraid to surrender to Him our deepest desires and needs. After all, if we can trust Him with everything that we have, we can surely trust Him with everything we don’t have.

Categories: Ponderizations | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “All I Don’t Have

  1. What truth. Truth I really needed to be reminded of.
    Thank you so much for sharing dear girl ^_^

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

