Do I or Don’t I?

I guess I must be a pretty good worrier. Doesn’t matter if the threat is real or imagined – I can still worry up a headache over it without much effort at all. It’s not worrying that I’m not good at. It’s not stressing about things that I’m so clumsy at. Recently I’ve had quite a few things going on (most of them nowhere but in my head) that my automatic response is to dwell on them and stress about them. The other day I was writing all the problems my brain had concocted, and it struck me – I had worked out all the ways the situation could be a problem for me…and I was prepared to worry about whichever way it ended up going. And I stopped and asked myself…where did my trust in God fit into all of this?

Because really, all my worries and anxiety boils down to a lack of trust that God’s got things under control. Doesn’t matter how wacky my brain is getting or how tiring life is – it all boils down to a simple question: Do I or don’t I believe His promises? I don’t care how complicated I think life is. I could simplify it a lot if I just remembered to ask myself that question instead of worrying. Has He not promised, and will He not also do it? If my God has proved Himself faithful to one so undeserving as myself, will He not also continue to do so? He is the same yesterday as He is today and will be tomorrow. I don’t have to worry about whether or not He will decide to work all things for good, because I already have His promise that He will. But do I or don’t I believe His promise? Maybe the worrying or lack thereof is a better answer than any I could give of my own accord. I don’t know about you, but I want my actions to say that I trust Him absolutely.

Categories: Ponderizations | Tags: , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Do I or Don’t I?

  1. Such truth! And what a great lesson to be recognizing and learning while WE (I’m in the same boat as you!) are young, huh? 😉 Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

