Dwell

My favorite part of the trip to Arizona last week could be summed up in a picture of the sweetest little 3-year-old boy. (I would include it, but WordPress is objecting.) You know the kids that make you wish you were allowed to adopt them? That’s him. This past week I got to love on bunches of little kids like that. It was amazing! But the night before we left for home, our host reminded us of something.

He said that as much as we did there during the week, now it was our job to go home and do it there. That we spent our week ministering in Arizona, and now we needed to go home and do it in Kansas. That we’re all missionaries, no matter where we live. Some of us get sent across the ocean, but others of us are called to reach out right here in the U.S. (God knows our country needs it!)

It reminded me of a verse God laid on my heart several months ago. I get a little restless sometimes in my everyday routine out here in the middle of nowhere, and this was the verse He gave me:

Trust in the Lord, and do good; dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness. Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:3-4

God put us right where we are for a reason – to dwell there, learn to trust in the Lord, and learn to be faithful in doing good right where we are. To delight in Him right where we are, so that when He moves us we will be able to do the same there.

Applying that to myself, how can I fidget to go somewhere full of exciting ministry opportunities if I’m not first faithful where I already am? How will I be faithful in a totally new environment if I’m not faithful in the one I’m already comfortable in? If I don’t know how to “dwell in the land and befriend faithfulness” right here in the middle of nowhere, I won’t do it when I go somewhere else. It starts here.

It doesn’t take driving out of state to get outside your comfort zone and touch someone, although that’s great. But really, all you have to do is look around, right in your own community. There are hurting people everywhere, but sometimes we get so used to them that we don’t even remember they’re there.

So now that I’ve had my adventure in Arizona, it’s time to buckle down and pursue the adventure in Kansas. Rather than wishing I could be in Arizona or Texas, I need to dwell mentally where I am physically. The future will come soon enough, but in the meantime my Savior calls me to dwell where I am and seek to faithfully serve Him here and now. To do good and trust that He will work out the details.

Categories: Ponderizations | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

