When it Comes to Hope

This morning I got a lovely whiff of early-morning Spring air as I hopped into the family minivan and drove to work this morning. Spring is my favorite season when it comes to the outdoor smells and the weather, but it’s also my favorite season for a different reason: Spring always reminds me of hope. It’s the time of year when something that is cold and dormant and brown and discouraging slowly starts to come to life, one little blade of tender green at a time.

This past week has been admittedly a little rough for our family; one of those weeks that just looks cold and brown and dead and discouraging. Just like the brown before Spring comes, hmm? Or maybe the discouraging before the hope comes. Sometimes I feel like there aren’t any little blades of hope poking up through the brown blegh yet, like it’s still dead winter. But then maybe the hope is there and I just didn’t see it. So what is hope? One of Noah Webster’s definitions of hope reads thus:

Hope – Confidence in a future event; the highest degree of well founded expectation of good.

Not desire for good, or evidence of good, but well founded expectation of good. That’s interesting because it gives no evidence that the person hoping has seen that hope come to pass yet. But it’s also encouraging because there are some days when my over-dramatic emotions make it difficult to see evidences of the things I hope for; and the truth is, you don’t have to be hopeless just because you can’t see it. As He reminded me today, you just have to keep confidently expecting that God will come through and He will work all things for good because He loves you. That’s hope, and it’s the most amazing hope I will ever have to hold onto. No matter what circumstances say to the contrary, I can confidently stand here and say “I know my Redeemer lives, and am persuaded that He is able.”

Psalm 42:11 ~ Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

So whether or not circumstances clear up or the depression goes away as quickly as it came, I choose to cling to God’s promises in His word, because, in this world of shifting sand there is nothing more well-founded that I can confidently expect and hope in.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

