There and Back Again

Yep, I’m finally home. God took me on a wonderful adventure in the last few weeks, and I’m not quite sure where to start to share it with you. I’m sure bits and pieces of it will come out in the next few months.DSC_5434 Going into the month the plan was for me to serve as a team leader for STEP Advanced, but God had other plans for me. He put me into a different role – Logistics. It wasn’t what I expected, but it was what I needed. God used the month to challenge me in so many ways I can’t even begin to count them, and I’m grateful for the lessons. Here’s just one of the neat snippets from the past month.

During the first week of STEP Advanced the girls got to maneuver through the Low Ropes Course on campus. It is a series of challenges, most of them composed of various cables and logs and ropes. After each challenge we had the girls come up with analogies for how it related to life. There was one particular challenge in which the girls had to cross a long tight cable strung between two trees as an entire team, with a rope hanging from a pulley on a cable above them as their only source of stability. To add to the fun, they weren’t allowed to use any personal pronouns (I, me, my) – and if they accidentally did, they lost their permission to speak for the rest of the challenge. Well, by the end of the challenge one of the teams had only two people left who were able to talk, and those two girls had to tell all the rest of them what to do.

When asked how they could relate that challenge to life, one of the girls shared a pretty neat analogy. She explained that when we’re focusing on ourselves (aka using personal pronouns) we cut off our ability to communicate well with others, and it ends up making it much harder to get the job done. How true! The same is also true when we’re just plain talking with people. When I’m worried about what I want to say and how I’m going to answer someone, the conversation ends up dying in a puddle of awkward silence. But when I really focus on the other person and try to learn about them and invest in their life rather than focus on what I can get from them, the conversation goes so much farther, and I end up coming away feeling much happier too.

So yep, there’s just a teeny snippet from my adventures this June. I’m sure I’ll post plenty of others over the next few months as I attempt to process it all myself. Now it’s your turn. What are some things God has been teaching you this past month? I’d love to hear about them in the comments! (I don’t bite, I promise! 🙂 )

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

