Not Easy

“Please give me strength to do this.” I realized the other day that often when I’m asking God for strength I’m really asking for Him to take all the roadblocks out of the way. “Give me strength” really means “Make it easy”. I bet God finds that annoying when I do that. “Yeah, so, I know I’ve said the last three years were the best of my life because they were hard, but could You just make this thing easy for me this time?” Sheesh.

The hard things are when I grow the most. But it’s hard to want the hard things when you struggle with exhaustion that makes it, well, hard. That’s where my desire for easy creeps in, I guess. But I don’t want to want the easy stuff. I still remember the despair that comes with a stagnant faith, and a stagnant faith comes from the easy life. So bring on the hard things. Can’t promise I’ll leap for joy, but at least I don’t have to be the strong one.

Two passages that have stuck with me…”My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.” (2 Corinthians 12:9) and “They who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:31) Even if it takes walking in His power one small step at a time, you can walk places if you keep taking one more step. Maybe I’m not ready to soar right now, but I can still let Him walk me through the hard things. And He will renew my strength; not to make the hard things easy, but to make the impossible things possible.

Categories: Ponderizations | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

