Sticking it Out

“Ohana means family. Family means nobody gets left behind or forgotten.” ~ Lilo and Stitch

When ancient armies left soldiers behind, it was because they were sick or wounded; they were considered a burden and no longer a benefit to the campaign. Their problems were too much for their fellows to handle anymore. And so they were abandoned, because someone gave up on them. Someone decided they weren’t worth the trouble anymore.

Every family has its problems, and I know mine is no exception. But when my sister moved out earlier this year, I felt like she was giving up on our family. Like she’d decided our problems were too big for her to handle anymore. Sometimes I’ve felt the same way. I get tired of dealing with the same old stuff time and again. The burden can be heavy, and sometimes I wish I too could escape it. But I can’t. Not just because I don’t have the money to move out. I have this awful feeling that were I to move out I would be giving up on my family. Running away from our struggles instead of facing them like I ought to. Leaving my family, one of the greatest blessings God has given me, behind.

On the flip side, you have someone like Sam Gamgee (who is, by the way, my absolute favorite character from Lord of the Rings). Faithful friend and stubborn supporter, he wouldn’t leave Frodo even when Frodo tried to make him. He stuck it out all the way, and when Frodo lost the strength to keep on, he carried him the rest of the way. That’s what I want to be like. I don’t want to give up when the going is tough. I want to stubbornly stick it out. Because I love my family. No matter what our struggles, I love my family. And… “That’s what you do in a herd. You look out for each other.” ~ Diego, Ice Age

Categories: Ponderizations | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sticking it Out

  1. Zailynne

    I love this! Great to remember!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

