Craving

Proverbs 13:4 – The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.

Have you ever felt your soul craving and craving something, but never seeming satisfied? I know I have. Particularly in the area of relationships. Throughout my struggle with depression I’ve craved friends who really cared about more than just the surface stuff. Friends with whom I could open up and share my struggles with, who would be there for me and give good advice. Not that I haven’t had those friends. God has given me quite a few amazing friends who have been just that and more to me. But what I’ve found is that so often I turn into a leech and cling to them, sucking the life out of the relationship. And in the end, I feel just as though I got nothing.

There’s a direct relationship between blessing and action. When we actively strive to invest in other people, the blessing levels of those relationships skyrocket; and when we take all we can get without giving in return, they wither away to nothing, no matter how amazing and kind and loving the people are.

I don’t like discovering that I identify with a “sluggard”, but apparently I’m a long ways from being diligent in my relationships. It’s easy to only write letters when someone else writes first, or to only chat when someone else comes up to me first. It’s easy to wall myself up with my projects and the internet and forget that my family needs my input too. It’s especially easy to be too exhausted to bother.

But you know what? That’s what craving does. It exhausts you and keeps you from doing anything worthwhile, because it knows that you’re letting it control you. It can happen if you’re moaning around because you’re single, or if you’re just a lonely introvert who’d like some friends. Maybe cravings are a test to see how important the thing is to us – are we willing to do what it takes to fix the problem, or would we rather sit back and crave, getting nothing out of the blessings we have?

Categories: Ponderizations | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

