Spend that Time

Time… Good grief, it moves faster every year, and it feels like I get less and less done every year. Now another year’s rolled over and here we are at risk of miswriting the date all over again. Didn’t we just get done scratching out the four and writing a five over it?

The faster time goes, the more I feel like we have such a very little of it left. Truth is that each of us has a set number of days on this earth, and we can’t change how much time we have. After a sermon along those lines this morning, I’ve been thinking about Life Means So Much by Chris Rice. The second verse says this:

Every day is a bank account
And time is our currency
So no one’s rich, nobody’s poor
We get twenty-four hours each

So how are you gonna spend
Will you invest or squander
Try to get ahead
Or help someone who’s under

So here are some questions I’ve been thinking through (and been toe-stomped by)…

Am I being as smart about how I spend time as I try to be with how I spend money?

Am I blowing my time on meaningless nothings like a little kid whose money is burning a hole in her pocket?

Do I take the time to consider what is worth spending my time on since I have so little of it in the grand scheme of things?

Our pastor talked about Ephesians 5:15-18 in his sermon:

Look carefully then how you walk, not as unwise but as wise, making the best use of the time, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is. And do not get drunk with wine, for that is debauchery, but be filled with the Spirit…

I had a realization about that last one, verse 18. It doesn’t just refer to alcoholism. It can refer to anything that we get addicted to. It can refer to binge-watching favorite movies or tv shows, for example. Do I want Jesus to return while I’m wasting hours on end watching hours of Pride and Prejudice on end? (Did that once…) No, I sure do not. Nor do I want Him to find me mindlessly scrolling endlessly through Facebook out of habit.

There are many kinds of substance abuse, and we as followers of Christ are called not to abuse what we are given, but to steward it. Are we stewarding the things we’ve been given in the time that we have?

That’s my question for the new year. I know I’ve wasted more time than I want to remember in the last year. Since my custom during the new year is to ask God to teach me, one of the things I’m asking Him to teach me this year is to use my time well and productively for His glory. I’d like to pass the challenge along to you as well. Do you struggle with wasting time? (Yes, there is a time for relaxation. I’m talking about wasting time.) I’d like to challenge you also to ask God to teach you how to count the days and make the days count.

Teach us to count the days
Teach us to make the days count
Lead us in better ways
Somehow our souls forgot
Life means so much

~Life Means So Much, Chris Rice

Categories: Ponderizations | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

