Kill the Self in Me

Father, kill the self in me this year.

Kill the self that values comfort

over people.

Kill the self that refuses interruptions

for the sake of my schedule.

Kill the self that envies the joys

You bestow on others.

Kill the self that wallows in misery

because I have not.

Kill the self that cannot stand failure

and so never risks.

Kill the self that has no time for others

but has ample time to waste.

Kill the self that is greedy

and cannot share the blessings You give.

Kill the self that cannot stand to be wrong

and can never let others be right.

Father I beg You –

Kill the self in me this year.

Categories: Poetry, Ponderizations | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Kill the Self in Me

  1. This is so good, Calista. I can well relate to what you expressed here…a prayer I need to prayer over and over.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

