Thanks

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” ~ Philippians 4:6-7

This past while as I’ve been pondering the topic of joy and simultaneously pouring out my chaotic thoughts to God I discovered an important part of prayer that has become essential to my own joy. Thanksgiving. You see, when I come before Him with a heavy heart and lay at His feet all that I’m confused about and waiting on and needing answers to and neglect to thank Him for what He’s already doing and what I know He will continue to do, I stay anxious and troubled when I come away.

I think the Psalmists knew about it too. How many of the psalms begin heavy-hearted and then halfway through they turn around and begin recounting God’s goodness and end in hope!

So that is my challenge to myself and to you. As you wait on God’s provision and His direction and His strength, remember to lay your burdens at His feet – but do it with a thankful heart. You might be surprised the difference it makes. 🙂

Categories: Ponderizations | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Thanks

  1. I forget this usually. Thank you for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

