Like Rain

There are some days when you just know that God has a sense of humor. As I write this I’m sitting in my room with soggy towels all over the floor because the rain got in from somewhere and proceeded to wash the floor that I haven’t bothered to mop in months. (I know, nasty…) And I have to laugh, just a little, because God’s using even a rain-covered floor to show me His goodness today.

I guess it’s story time. Honestly, I’ve been struggling emotionally the last couple weeks. It’s nothing new; I’ve dealt with it off and on for quite a while, but in the last couple weeks the struggle intensified, and with it, of course, the accompanying depression. (Good old depression…) I started thinking of myself as a Shieldmaiden when I’m struggling, because it helps remind me to keep my chin up and keep seeking God, but his past week has been especially difficult to fight off the unhealthy thoughts.

In the middle of it all, God steered my attention to Hosea 6:3 (a verse I was familiar with especially because I used it in a lesson while I was at STEP this summer) which says this:

Let us know; let us press on to know the Lord; His going out is sure as the dawn; He will come to us as the showers, as the spring rains that water the earth.

He will come as the rain. I continue to have questions that remain unanswered, but He will come to me like the rain, as sure as the dawn. As if to confirm it, on the day that He reminded me of that verse, it rained. And then a couple days later when I was struggling again, it rained again. You might laugh at me, but it’s too good of timing for me not to notice the correlation.

Today – this afternoon, actually, I was spending time in His presence, realizing once again how carefully thoughtful and detailed His is in His care of me. He knows I’ve been struggling with my thoughts and depression, and He also knows that in those instances I need something else to occupy my mind. Every day this past week He’s given me something new as an alternative to the thoughts I struggle to evict therefrom. Realizing and counting up the ways in which He has specifically taken effort to love me recently overwhelmed me. And right about then it began to utterly POUR down rain, to the point of overwhelming the basement’s waterproofing and running all across the floors. (Which effectively occupied me yet more when I discovered I needed to rescue my floor, haha!)

God is good. He knows I need the small things, and He gives me plenty of them to keep on reminding me just how overwhelmingly He loves me. To think that the Creator of the universe cares enough to specifically take care of me when I’m having a tough time, just like a loving husband looking after his wife. To think that He cares that much about me – and YOU, too! I hope that you know the kind of love I’m talking about. Not knowing it with your head, but from raw, overwhelming experience. If you haven’t, I pray that you do. Because if the God you worship is too busy to attend to the smaller details of your life just for the sake of making you smile because He loves you, well… you haven’t had a chance to really – REALLY – get to know this awesome God we serve.

My words are too small to do Him justice, but He is good. What more can I say?

Categories: Ponderizations | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

